Sponsored By:

The Best HMO Investor award looks to recognise those who have made the most prudent investments to add to or create their HMO portfolio. Open to all asset owners, and owner-managers, this award rewards those who manage risks tightly whilst delivering above-market returns.

The Best HMO Investor award lead judge: Adam G Lawrence

Judging Criteria

  • Evidence of properties purchased or under control with comprehensive figures
  • Financial structure/capital stack of the investment/property company
  • Testimonials/social proof of a quality service delivery
  • Asset management detail and evidence including voids, arrears
  • Systems and process evidence of a robust business and investment


Basic information required:

  • Applicant Name
  • Company Trading Name
  • Contact Email Address
  • Contact Number
  • Website

Company information required:

  • Description of the portfolio (region, number of units, target market, and how long you’ve been operating, performance metrics)

Award specific information required:

  • How do you appraise an HMO investment?
  • How did/does your approach adapt during the pandemic?
  • What risks do you consider? Do you have a SWOT analysis or other tool for your portfolio?
  • Do you forecast future performance? If so, how far in advance do you forecast?
  • How do you monitor ongoing performance?
  • How do you ensure your corporate obligations are fulfilled?
  • How are you managing the risk of a rising interest rate?